I like the air

Robert Francis “I Like The Air” from Max Goldblatt on Vimeo.

After 3 weeks and 33 flat visits, I finally found myself the most perfect flat and flatmate in London…and so I’m happy to announce that I’m now an official resident of London, N7 to be specific.

With the whole flat hunting ordeal finally behind me, and a rad place to come home to, I am overjoyed to have free time to enjoy this royal city…well, when its not pissing down as it has done very much of late.

After more rain in may than the past 200 years there was a fantastic glimpse of summer to come which lasted us a glorious 10 hot, muggy, sunny days..and of course, the rain did indeed return to remind us that though it may officially be summer…we are in Britain, and that just won’t do.

The festival season kicked off in beauty over the jubilee long weekend with a partially sunny, and totally rad field day over at vic park. I was caught off guard by the crowds and queues (it wasn’t sold out…) and after taking the wrong bus (scenic route through Clapton) and running through the streets of hackney I found myself queuing for so long to enter that I missed my fav band…bummed out and on the verge of tears I hightailed it for the red bull tent to restore my faith in the world (Dutch courage and energy drinks will do that apparently)

After borrowing a stranger’s phone (I’d like to thank Vodafone…crap mobile reception) I managed to find some friends and the day turned into one of fun in the sun (sometimes) with great tunes and a massive park to dart across from one stage to another…personal highlights were Metronomy and Beirut who were both really great live acts..

We ended the night there dancing in the rain to Franz Ferdinand…how appropriately British for my very first, British festival. Photos to come.

Leave a Reply

