Go your own way

Today I realised its been almost three months since I last wrote here…pretty bad in my opinion.

That said my writing has been all over the place for almost a year, reflecting my lack of being settled and my more personal journey of recent times.

Since last August I have spent almost six weeks in London at various times. Each time hoping that I’d see another side, be drawn to live in this city and find interesting work to make the move.

Well between here and the many cities I visited, I ended up in India for four months, guess I didn’t quite find what I was looking for…or perhaps, I wasn’t looking for the right thing…so in the end I found that and I went for it.

Months later getting a job has become imperative for a few reasons…I’m really missing coffee for one!

I decided it would be between London and Paris, and after a short stint in each city I left London with a solid offer.

So here I am, a couple weeks later, having starting my new job at one of the city’s latest cafes, renting my mates couch and flat hunting in my spare time…exhausting!!

Anyone who’s done the whole flatshare thing can appreciate how tiring, time consuming and all around god awful searching for a place can be! Not to mention I’m in a city I don’t really know, searching in suburbs I’ve never even heard of, oh and yeah there’s that job with crazy hours that I’m not used to anymore!

So here I am running about in the rain (yes it’s still cold and rainy here for those who were wondering, spring is yet to have sprung) getting completely lost in suburbs accessible to work (most of which I haven’t been to before) and arriving late to house inspections which resemble a fusion between an interview and speed dating…

We’re both trying to suss each other out, keeping a suspicious eye out for any bad habits, the usual deal breakers or a well kept secret that could forever ruin the agreement and have me out on this fun hunt once again…

I tell you thank god for google maps and iPhones…this would not be possible without them!

So I finish a good inspection, usually it’s run too long since we’re just chatting away (good sign) and I have to run off to the next one whilst calling to apologise for running late (can’t really predict the previous visit was going to go so well really!) and figuring out the buses to get where I’m going leaving no time to really mull over it and decide that it’s in my top 3 of the last few days.

When I do get down to rating them I contact the people I liked the most to see where they’re at, hoping we were on the same page and that they picked me too! (back to the dating scene/interview here)

By Sunday I thought I’d done it, I had my top three, all firm contenders and I contacted them all. Well I was shit out of luck it seems, number one on my list liked me too but her flatmate decided to stay on…right…

Number two with the perfect location, well, let’s just say discrimination works in strange ways sometimes! That said I do understand the choice to not live with someone you find attractive…all flattery aside, I was really bummed out!

Oh and number three, well it’s with a couple so I’m still trying to see how I feel about that one…

Where does it leave me? Well back to it really…back to the listings…I have read thousands of ads and I’m always conscious of the hours of my life i won’t get back…

Oh well, I’m discovering London in some ways, and meeting people…one of my closest friends back in Melbourne I met on this very same scene…she needed a flatmate and me a new home. In the end she went with someone else but we stayed great friends, worked out for the best really. Oh how the universe works in mysterious ways.

Well back to the listings for me…after an amazing doco on Fleetwood Mac I had to share this rad track…enjoy!

go your own way

Leave a Reply

